Skip to main content

East Whittier City School District

Main Menu Toggle
District Departments » Educational Support Services » Educational Support Services Home

Educational Support Services Home

Assistant Superintendent of Educational Support Services - Gabby Tavitian
Gabriela Tavitian
Assistant Superintendent
Educational Support Services
562-907-5939
gtavitian@ewcsd.org
 

Welcome to the Educational Support Services webpage. We are proud to share the work of our team as we strive to provide optimal learning experiences and opportunities for our students by providing educational leadership, coordination, and support to the East Whittier City School District staff.

 

The Educational Support Services Department is responsible for providing leadership and support for district staff to ensure that each student meets or exceeds district standards by coordinating the development, alignment, and implementation of the following:

  • TK - 8 curriculum
  • Staff development
  • Assessment
  • Programs for English Learners
  • Gifted and Talented Education (GATE)
  • Home Schooling
  • Independent Study
  • Early Childhood Education
  • Special projects at all schools

 

Our goal is to support teachers and administrators so that every student will achieve their academic and creative potential and thrive in the 21st Century.

Educational Support Services is committed to supporting the District mission of "Opening the Door to Each Child’s Future."

 

Thank you for visiting us.

 

 Curriculum and Instruction Division
Kim Chuha
Administrative Secretary
562-907-5939
kchuha@ewcsd.org
 
Monica Valenzuela
Director, Categorical & Assessment
562-907-5977
mvalenzuela@ewcsd.org
 
Dr. Alane Calhoun
Director, Curriculum and Instruction
562-907-5942
acalhoun@ewcsd.org
 

 
Valerie Cruz
Secretary
562-907-5975
vcruz@ewcsd.org
 
Cindy Alvarez
Secretary
562-907-5941
calvaraz@ewcsd.org
 

Instructional Support Coaches
Carley Goodman
ELA TK-5
562-907-5947
cgoodman@ewcsd.org
 
Becky Mayernik
ELA 6-8
562-201-7529
rmayernik@ewcsd.org
 
Karen Hernandez
ELA/ELD
562-907-5995
khernandez@ewcsd.org
 
Valerie Redd
Thinking Maps Support
vredd@ewcsd.org
 
Patty Dunn
Visual & Performing Arts Support
PDunn@ewcsd.org
 

 
 
 
Danny Gonzalez
Math Coach TK-5
562-907-5927
dgonzalez@ewcsd.org
Wendy Lessard-Clouston
Math Coach 6-8
562-907-5926
wlessard-clouston@ewcsd.org
Roni MacDonald
ESS Tech Coach
562-907-5924
rmacdonald@ewcsd.org
 
 
Visual And Performing Arts (VAPA) Team
Physical Education Art Music Dance
Loretta Reed
lreed@ewcsd.org
Mary Contreras
mcontreras@ewcsd.org
Loren Hartman
lhartman@ewcsd.org
Elizabeth Zambrano
ezambrano@ewcsd.org
Monique Addcox
PE - Support Aide
Magdalena Pena
Art - Support Aide
Elizabeth Caraveo
Music - Support Aide
Julia Maldonado
Dance - Support Aide

Elementary PE Support Coaches
Celia Amaya
camaya@ewcsd.org
 
Brittney Morris
 
 
Joshua Perez
 

Multi-Tiered System of Support (MTSS) Team
Paul White
MTSS Administrator
562-789-2071
pwhite@ewcsd.org
 
Kathy Eppick
MTSS Psychologist
562-789-2073
keppick@ewcsd.org
 
Kelli Lumbreras
MTSS Program Specialist
562-789-2019
klumbreras@ewcsd.org
 
Christina Warrick
MTSS Program Specialist
562-789-2071
cwarrick@ewcsd.org
 
 
Edward Brown
MTSS Program Assistant
562-789-2019
ebrown@ewcsd.org